REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 12 MAY 2008

Chairman:

* Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie

Councillors:

Husain Akhtar Robert Benson

Mrinal Choudhury

- t G Chowdhury
- Mano Dharmarajah
- Thaya Idaikkadar
- t Nizam Ismail
- * Denotes Member present
- † Denotes apologies received

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

71. Welcome:

The Chairman welcomed former and new Members to the inaugural meeting of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/09.

72. **Appointment of Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To note the appointment at the Annual Council Meeting on 8 May 2008 of Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie as Chairman of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/09.

Attendance by Reserve Members: 73.

RESOLVED: To note that there are no Reserve Members appointed to this Committee.

74. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

75. Arrangement of Agenda:

That (1) in accordance with the Local Government (Access to **RESOLVED**: Information) Act 1985, the following item be admitted late to the agenda by virtue of the special circumstances and grounds for urgency detailed below:-

Agenda item

7. Establishment of Sub-Committees and Panels 2008/09

Special Circumstances / Grounds for Urgency

This information was not available at the time the agenda was printed and circulated, as it was being consulted on. Members are requested to consider this item, as a matter of urgency, as the establishment of the Committee's subsidiary bodies was the main purpose of this Special meeting and would enable meetings of the Sub-Committees and Panels to be convened.

(2) all items be considered with the press and public present.

76. **Appointment of Vice Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani as Vice-Chairman of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/09.

- † Mrs Kinnear
- Ashok Kulkarni
- * Mrs Vina Mithani
- Phillip O'Dell
- * Raj Ray
- * Tom Weiss
- Jeremy Zeid

77. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee held on 3 March 2008 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

78.

Establishment of Sub - Committees and Panels 2008 / 09: The Chairman referred to the number of Sub-Committees that would be meeting soon after their establishment and referred to those where the agendas had already been issued. In response to queries about the forthcoming Licensing Panels, she asked Members to speak directly to the clerk responsible for this area in order to clarify who would be serving on the Panels.

The Chairman urged Members to avail themselves of the document they had been sent by officers titled 'New Look LGPS in England and Wales for 2008'.

The Chairman informed the Committee of the change of date of the next Licensing and General Purposes Committee which would meet on 23 June instead of 12 June 2008.

RESOLVED: That the Panels and Sub-Committees of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee be established for the next Municipal Year 2008/09 with the memberships and Chairmen as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.35 pm, closed at 6.44 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR MRS LURLINE CHAMPAGNIE Chairmán

APPENDIX

	LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS			
	(Membership in order of political group nominations)			
	<u>Conservative</u>	<u>_abour</u>	Liberal Democrats	
	(1) CHIEF OFFICERS' EMPLOYMENT PANEL (5)			
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	(3) [(2) Voluntary]	(2)	(1) [From Conservative Group allocation]	
	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group	
	(Councillor David Ashton or nominee) (CH)	(Councillor Navin Shah or nominee)	Christopher Noyce	
	2. <u>Deputy Leader of the Group</u> (Councillor Susan Hall or	2. <u>Deputy Leader of the</u> <u>Group</u>		
	nominee)	(Councillor Bill Stephenson or nominee)		
	(2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional)			
	(2)	(1)		
<u>I.</u> Members	Miss Christine Bednell Richard Romain (CH)	Mano Dharmarajah		
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Lurline Champagnie Narinder Singh Mudhar Jeremy Zeid 	1. Keith Ferry 2 3		
	(3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3)			
	(2)	(1)		
<u>l.</u> Members	Miss Christine Bednell (CH) Mrs Lurline Champagnie	Keeki Thammaiah		
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Camilla Bath Jean Lammiman Mrs Vina Mithani 	1. Raj Ray 2 3		

(4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Husain Akhtar Robert Benson Mrs Lurline Champagnie G Chowdhury Mrs Kinnear Ashok Kulkarni Mrs Vina Mithani Tom Weiss Jeremy Zeid Mrinal Choudhury Mano Dharmarajah Thaya Idaikkadar Nizam Ismail Phillip O'Dell Raj Ray

(5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath Don Billson John Cowan Mrs Myra Michael Joyce Nickolay Dinesh Solanki Mark Versallion Mrinal Choudhury Bob Currie Mano Dharmarajah Keith Ferry Nizam Ismail Krishna James

(6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2)

(2)

I. Tony Ferrari Members Richard Romain (CH) Mano Dharmarajah Thaya Idaikkadar

II.	1.	Mrs Lurline Champagnie
<u>Reserve</u> Members	2.	Robert Benson John Cowan

1 Keith Ferry

2. Nizam Ismail

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray] GMB Co-optee: Mr S Karia Co-optee (Non-voting): Howard Bluston

(7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath Don Billson Mrs Lurline Champagnie John Cowan Manji Kara Jean Lammiman Salim Miah Joyce Nickolay Mrs Anjana Patel Dinesh Solanki Jeremy Zeid Bob Currie Mrs Margaret Davine B E Gate David Gawn Mitzi Green Graham Henson Krishna James Raj Ray Bill Stephenson

(8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2)

((1))

Mrs Lurline Champagnie Mrs Myra Michael Mrs Vina Mithani Eric Silver Dinesh Solanki B E Gate Mitzi Green Asad Omar Mrs Rekha Shah

(CH) (VC)

= Chair = Vice-Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.